Benchmarks for therapy practice Google Ads

If you’re running Google Ads for your therapy practice, then you need to be tracking two things: cost per lead (CPL) and customer acquisition cost (CAC). 

  • CPL = total ad spend / total calls or form submissions 

  • CAC = total ad spend / total new clients  

What does “good” look like for therapy practice Google Ads?

According to Joshua Brummel of My Therapy Flow, a “good” CPL for insurance-based practices is $40-$60 per lead unless they have a distinct specialty (e.g. EMDR) and/or competitive area (e.g. New York City). For cash pay practices, a “good” CPL is between $80-$120 per lead. 

Typical conversion rate from Google Ads leads is around 30%-60% for insurance-based practices and 15%-20% for cash pay practices.

As a cash pay practice at a 20% conversion rate from Google Ads leads, you’d need to generate 5 leads to generate one new client. At a CPL of $50 per lead, your CAC would be $50 x 5 = $250. 

That means to generate four new clients per month, you’d need to spend $1,000 per month on Google Ads. 

With that said, I generally don’t recommend Google Ads for solo or small group practices with limited marketing budgets. But they can be effective for larger group practices.


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